Caldo Verde with Kale

First soup this fall ! I love this ❤ Merci to my friend Cécile who let me into her veggie garden to fill a big basket full of Kale !

GOOD food from the good life . . .

caldoverde

SOUP !!  Before the Kale in our garden is gone for another year, I will certainly be making as much of this soup as I can… We just can’t get enough…

I had this recipe in my “to try” file for years and a trip to Portugal last year got me motivated to finally make it.  Every restaurant in Porto that we ate in had a version of this soup (with huge variations).

I used a locally produced chorizo sausage.  If your chorizo is very fatty you might want to fry it off for a few minutes before draining the fat and adding the sausage to the soup.

chorizo

I usually have two types of Kale growing in the garden (thanks to my garden guru Carol Reid Gaillard).  This year I have the Lacinta (Tuscan Kale or Cavolo Nero) and a Russian Kale.  They are like little palm trees and…

View original post 135 more words

Leave a Reply

